The St. Andrew Novena

St. Andrew Christmas Novena - Copy.PNG

Well, this post started out in my enthusiastic mind as a great idea, and then I did the research for it. I knew the “St. Andrew Novena” or “Christmas Novena” was coming up, so I thought I would share all about it with my dear readers. And…it’s much stranger than I thought.

The St. Andrew Novena is 1) more than nine days, 2) no one knows its origins (although one source suggested the Irish), and 3) it is a short prayer prayed 15 TIMES per DAY for the twenty-five day period leading up to Christmas. Oh, and 4) it has nothing to do with St. Andrew other that beginning on his feast day.  Go figure.

It will, no doubt, enrich your Christmas preparations if you chose to pray this strange novena. Keep it in mind for another year, if not this one.

Here is the prayer, then (to be recited 15 times per day, November 30-Christmas Eve):

Hail, and blessed be the hour and moment at which the Son of God was born of the most pure Virgin Mary, in a stable, at midnight, in Bethlehem, in the piercing cold. At that hour vouchsafe, I beseech Thee, to hear my prayer and grant my desires.

(Here say your intentions)

Through the merits of Our Lord Jesus Christ and His most Blessed Mother. Amen.

I hope it helps you in keeping a holy and happy Advent!

Your thoughts:

