Quotes of the Week

Read, read, read, that’s all my husband thinks I do! It is all I do, actually. But I don’t like to read alone, I like to share. So here are some of my favorite quotes from my current reads this week.

+ – + – + – + – + – + – + – +

The first quote is from my Lenten reading, and its brevity belies its powerful meaning:

To destroy sin is to uproot the first causes of poverty.

–Ven. Fulton Sheen, Life of Christ

If only more people could be convinced of this! (Social justice programs would go in such a different direction, wouldn’t they?) This is the way I choose to approach charitable giving: contributing to organizations like 40 Days for Life and And Then There Were None helps attack sin, and gives monetary aid to those who are helping the poorest of the poor, the pre-born. (Look into these great organizations if you have never heard of them!)

Since I’ve been book shopping lately, sometimes wandering through aisles and aisles of utter garbage, I appreciated coming across this quote in one of my new brand-new books:

The number of books that should not have been written is staggering. Laid end to end they would lead from wherever they are to an attic.

–Br. George N. Schuster, SM

Ha ha! Someone needs to make a bumper sticker or something out of that one!

The next quote is from the main character of a novel that definitely should have been written, and I am very much enjoying it (book review coming soon!):

I am going to hold a pistol to the head of the Modern Man. But I shall not use it to kill him. Only to bring him life.

(Innocent Smith in) G. K. Chesterton’s Manalive

Chesterton is amazing, just amazing. He makes me laugh, and think, and hope, and aspire to be a better person.

Next up: it’s depressing, I know, but we’ve all been there. I need to do something bumper-stickerish with this quote, too:

My God, what a dreadful age You have made me live in!

St. Polycarp of Smyrna (69-155)

St. Polycarp, a disciple of the apostle St. John, combatted some of the earliest heresies in Christianity. (One wonders what this good saint would say of our times…) Thankfully, the times gradually got better and the Church eventually ushered in the Age of Faith. A British scholar I’m reading has this to say about that marvelous era of Catholicism in England:

In the liturgy and in the sacramental celebrations which were its central moments, medieval people found the key to the meaning and purpose of their lives.

Eamon Duffy

And that, dear readers, is what the St. Catherine Catholic Culture Center was founded to help people do once again! That is why I write these words today. May we look to the liturgy for our key to Catholic culture, and then build our lives on what we find there!

Now, I’ll go back to reading. Look for much, much more to come about the Age of Faith, the history of the early Church, Manalive and G. K. Chesterton, and great Catholic literature!

Your thoughts:

