Prayer: After a “Toilsome” Day

For all of you hard-working men and women, here is a beautiful old prayer (from the 1800s) to be prayed at the end of your long and busy day!

After a Toilsome Day

Conducted by thy Providence, O God, through the toils, the vexations, the turmoils, and the business of this day I present myself before thee to beg pardon of all my failings, and to acknowledge that goodness which has upheld me in all my difficulties. Notwithstanding my renewed professions of resignation, I have offended thee by attaching too much importance to the things of this world; by forgetting that thou didst call upon me, and offer interests true and eternal. But, O Lord, thou knowest my weakness; and I can only again confess mine unworthiness, and pray thee to enable me now to seek into the state of my soul that I may unite myself more firmly to thee before this day be for ever past away

Oh forgive me all my sins before I sleep; and grant that I may wake in the morning with a strong and lasting resolve to work out my salvation. Assist my weak endeavours that I may grow in grace as I grow in years. Cleanse my heart from all those corrupt dispositions which are offensive to thee; from pride, wrath, selfishness, and inattention to serious things To my sense of mine unworthiness, let me add real sorrow; and to sorrow, sincere purposes of amendment. May I always reverence thy holy name, thy church, thy word and ordinances. May I be ever just, mild, and compassionate to others: temperate, chaste, and humble in the government of my passions: content with my condition: and although diligent in my business, yet ever mindful to heap up to myself treasures there where no foe can break in upon my hoard.

Where I err, let me amend; and where I amend, let me give the glory to thee, my Creator, my Redeemer, and my Sanctifier.

Bless all my relations and friends, and especially those who are near and dear unto me; and grant that I may never give pain to those for whom I am beseeching thy mercy. Accept the prayers, and pardon the imperfections, of all, through the merits of thy Son, our Savior, Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

__________________________________________________________

From  The Catholic Hours, or, The Family Prayer Book, T. Jones, Catholic Publisher, 1840

Prayer: After a "Toilsome" Day

2 thoughts on “Prayer: After a “Toilsome” Day

Your thoughts:

