A Short Lent?

A Short Lent-Poor Richard

In all seriousness, though, as we begin this solemn and penitential season of Lent I want to tell you that you will all be in my prayers. My hope for Lent 2014 is that we each appreciate the greatness of the love of Christ on the Cross more than we ever have before, that we learn to love the salvific effects of our properly-offered daily sufferings during this time, and that we work with God on our hearts to purify them and prepare them for the coming of Easter, the greatest feast in the entire Church Year.

So far I have sketched out a few simple things for my observance of this season. My Lenten reading this year will be the Ven. Fulton Sheen’s Life of Christ. During Lent I am always involved in 40 Days for Life as well, so I am looking forward to prayerful witness to the sanctity of life with fellow parishioners over the next few weeks. And as is usual for me, I will be giving up sweets as a sacrifice this year. During the weeks of Lent I often think of more things to ponder and to do, but this is my plan as of now, simple but challenging.

 What have you planned for Lent this year? I’d love to hear about it!

2 thoughts on “A Short Lent?

Your thoughts:

