“We’re Painting the Roses Red”

Today I celebrated the birthday of a non-Catholic “patron saint,” Lewis Carroll Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, with the students at the school I work at. A dear man, and an inspirational educator/writer/dreamer, I couldn’t help but include a memorial to Lewis Carroll here since he is an inspiration to me.

File:LewisCarrollSelfPhoto.jpg

To celebrate his birthday, I brought The Other Alice: The Story of Alice Liddell and Alice in Wonderland to work for the kids to see. I also printed out coloring pages from the original illustrations of Alice in Wonderland, as well as some roses that loosely fit the theme because the girls like coloring flowers so much! One of them picked up on the connection between roses and Alice right away, and after singing the short song from the movie presented me with a colored picture for my refrigerator. The girls and I got to talk about the “real” Alice, clothing styles of the time, and played that word game (he invented? popularized?) where you turn HATE into LOVE, and WHEAT into BREAD, etc.

Celebrating is what we Catholics do–and there’s enough love to spread around for all kinds of wonderful folks! Children are such a gift, and celebrating with them is as good as it gets.

Your thoughts:

